Gatwick Obviously Not.org

The umbrella group for all areas East of Gatwick

e-newsletter No.14



"Wealden District Council has not agreed to support the second runway at Gatwick"

"Gatwick have since confirmed that trials on flight path widths and heights did take place at the request of the Civil Aviation Authority"

Dear All (1,252 and counting)

You may recall that last week we launched a voting form (see below) for all Wealden Councillors as we had heard that some of them were not too happy about their County Council's stance to support the 2nd runway.
(To be exact, the stance of a single Cllr Simmons who took a unilateral decision for East Sussex CC to do so without a vote, under delegated powers).

We asked you to get in contact with them - and you did!

Today we wrote to them all again.

Then late this morning we received this very significant email, below.

We will be sure to let ESCC know and hopefully we really can now help ESCCAN - the Campaigners who have done so much to persuade East Sussex CC to change direction - to achieve their ultimate goal.

Well done and thank you. If you'd like to write and thank all the Wealden cllr's, you can use this single email address to do so, as before: wdc@gatwickobviouslynot.org

Next steps; we will very shortly be offering all East Sussex County Councillors an opportunity to show their support for Cllr Simmons' increasingly beleaguered position on the 2nd runway. We will go live with a simplified 'vote' form and ensure all County Cllr's are sent a link to it.

You may recall Gatwick's CEO Stewart Wingate has previously said:
"… the impression may be that something has changed, although I can assure you nothing has …"
Stewart Wingate, Chief Executive, Gatwick, 18.07.14 to Charles Hendry MP

and:

"There has not been any trial of a 'Superhighway' on our westerly approaches and we are not planning any trials"
Stewart Wingate, Gatwick, 28.08.14

How do these words from Gatwick's CEO sit with what Mr Larkin tells us in his email (see below, quoted above)?

Can we really trust Mr Wingate with the keys to a 2nd runway?

Martin Barraud
Leader
www.gatwickobviouslynot.org
 



From: DAVID LARKIN
Date: Wed, 10 Dec 2014 11:24:25
To: Martin Barraud; ask@gatwickobviouslynot.org

Subject: Re: Fwd: Calling all Wealden Councillors ...

Dear Mr Barraud,

Thank you for your e-mails.

I am pleased to confirm that Wealden District Council has not agreed to support the second runway at Gatwick.

The Council’s Corporate Plan for 2015-19 approved at Wealden's Cabinet recently states that the Council will 'recognise the importance of the economic benefits of Gatwick Airport to the District but also work to ensure any changes do not increase environmental harm, including noise, on our local communities.'

This confirms and supports the three Corporate Objectives set out in your question below.

We have been in contact with Charles Hendry MP, who has contacted Gatwick, the Civil Aviation Authority and the Department of Transport. Gatwick initially stated that nothing has changed in terms of air traffic routes apart from a busier than normal summer. Given this information did not fit the experiences of many residents Charles Hendry is seeking more information on air traffic flows in recent years although Gatwick have since confirmed that trials on flight path widths and heights did take place at the request of the Civil Aviation Authority.

Gatwick is a significant economic driver and indeed many Wealden residents work at the airport and many more work in businesses located to be near the international airport. The Council does not wish to see any negative impact on economic activity but it is also conscious of the affect of noise on our residents.

Obviously, only those individual District Councillors who are also County Councillors can be expected to have any direct influence on Councillor Simmons at ESCC; you may wish to contact them separately.

I hope that helps.

Kind regards,

David Larkin
Councillor - Crowborough East
 



Calling all Wealden District Councillors

Q: Do you support Cllr Simmons' unilateral decision - taken without a vote under delegated powers - for East Sussex County Council to back a 2nd runway at Gatwick?

Dear Councillors

You will have heard that Paul Carter of KCC has advised that his County now opposes the 2nd runway at Gatwick.

I note your Council's three Corporate Objectives are:

East Sussex County Council, of which you play such an important part, decided some time ago to support the 2nd runway at Gatwick.

Well, to be clear, a single Cllr decided that the whole County should do so, using his delegated powers to unilaterally make this decision. (A decision only discovered via a Freedom of Information Request).

We've tried to persuade Cllr Simmons, for it was he, to change his mind but so far without success.

You probably already know that the infamous 'Point Merge' is likely to obliterate what's left of the tranquility of your District (imagine a system holding enough planes to deliver one to Gatwick every 30 seconds) and that Crowborough or Mayfield may be dissected by the 500m-wide 'Superhighway in the sky'.

How does this fit with your Corporate Objectives?

Can you help?

Because we hear some of you may not be too happy about this decision, we're writing to you via this email to ask if you support it or not. We'll put your answers on a table at our web site at http://www.gatwickobviouslynot.org so that those voting for you next May can see what you're thinking.

Below my signature, you will find a copy of the table as it stands today. As you can see, it's all question marks for now, which we'd like to replace with a solid "Yes" or "No" answer from each of you.

Please just email ask@gatwickobviouslynot.org with your answer, preferably with 'Wealden' in the subject box (we have a huge and very active database throughout West Kent and East Sussex and wouldn't want to miss your email).

Thanks for letting us know.

Martin Barraud
www.gatwickobviouslynot.org

P.S. Following this table, I've attached some of Mr Carter's reasons for his decision. Plane noise doesn't respect County boundaries. And, by the way, a Kent Messenger poll says 80% of those voting (1,554 so far) agree with his decision.
 

photo of Councillor Dick Angel Councillor Dick Angel
Heathfield North & Central
cllr.dick.angel@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Jo Bentley Councillor Jo Bentley
Hailsham South and West
cllr.jo.bentley@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor John Blake Councillor John Blake
Hellingly
cllr.john.blake@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Don Broadbent Councillor Don Broadbent
Polegate North
cllr.don.broadbent@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Norman Buck Councillor Norman Buck
Buxted and Maresfield
cllr.norman.buck@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Raymond Cade Councillor Raymond Cade
Heathfield North & Central
cllr.raymond.cade@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor John Carvey Councillor John Carvey
Uckfield Ridgewood
cllr.john.carvey@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Lin Clark Councillor Lin Clark
Pevensey and Westham
cllr.lin.clark@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Nicholas Collinson Councillor Nicholas Collinson
Hailsham Central and North
cllr.nicholas.collinson@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Nigel Coltman Councillor Nigel Coltman
Hailsham South and West
cllr.nigel.coltman@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Ronald Cussons Councillor Ronald Cussons
Willingdon
cllr.ron.cussons@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Barby Dashwood-Morris Councillor Barby Dashwood-Morris
Chiddingly & East Hoathly
cllr.barby.dashwood-morris@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Dianne Dear Councillor Dianne Dear
Pevensey and Westham
cllr.dianne.dear@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Pam Doodes Councillor Pam Doodes
Ninfield & Hooe with Wartling
cllr.pam.doodes@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Claire Dowling Councillor Claire Dowling
Uckfield Central
cllr.claire.dowling@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Jan Dunk Councillor Jan Dunk
Heathfield North & Central
cllr.jan.dunk@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Louise Eastwood Councillor Louise Eastwood
Uckfield North
cllr.louise.eastwood@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Helen Firth Councillor Helen Firth
Uckfield New Town
cllr.helen.firth@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Jonica Fox Councillor Jonica Fox
Cross-in-Hand/Five Ashes
cllr.jonica.fox@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Roy Galley Councillor Roy Galley
Danehill/Fletching/Nutley
cllr.roy.galley@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Chris Hardy Councillor Chris Hardy
Hartfield
cllr.chris.hardy@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Steve Harms Councillor Steve Harms
Alfriston
cllr.steve.harms@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Jim Hollins Councillor Jim Hollins
Crowborough St Johns
cllr.jim.hollins@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Peter Holloway Councillor Peter Holloway
Forest Row
cllr.peter.holloway@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Johanna Howell Councillor Johanna Howell
Frant/Withyham
cllr.johanna.howell@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Stephen Isted Councillor Stephen Isted
Crowborough Jarvis Brook
cllr.stephen.isted@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor David Larkin Councillor David Larkin
Crowborough East
cllr.david.larkin@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Andy Long Councillor Andy Long
Herstmonceux
? ?
photo of Councillor Michael Lunn Councillor Michael Lunn
Uckfield North
cllr.michael.lunn@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Barry Marlowe Councillor Barry Marlowe
Hailsham Central and North
cllr.barry.marlowe@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Nigel McKeeman Councillor Nigel McKeeman
Heathfield East
cllr.nigel.mckeeman@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Huw Merriman Councillor Huw Merriman
Rotherfield
cllr.huw.merriman@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Rowena Moore Councillor Rowena Moore
Forest Row
cllr.rowena.moore@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Ann Newton Councillor Ann Newton
Framfield
cllr.ann.newton@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Ken Ogden Councillor Ken Ogden
Buxted & Maresfield
cllr.ken.ogden@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Charles R Peck Councillor Charles R Peck
East Dean
cllr.charles.peck@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Diane Phillips Councillor Diane Phillips
Crowborough West
cllr.diane.phillips@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Dr. Brian Redman Councillor Dr. Brian Redman
Mayfield
cllr.brian.redman@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Carol Reynolds Councillor Carol Reynolds
Crowborough East
cllr.carol.reynolds@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Peter Roundell Councillor Peter Roundell
Danehill/Fletching/Nutley
cllr.peter.roundell@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor William Rutherford Councillor William Rutherford
Frant/Withyham
cllr.william.rutherford@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Daniel Shing Councillor Daniel Shing
Polegate South
daniel.shing@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Oi Lin Shing Councillor Oi Lin Shing
Polegate North
cllr.oilin.shing@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Raymond Shing Councillor Raymond Shing
Willingdon
cllr.raymond.shing@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Stephen Shing Councillor Stephen Shing
Willingdon
cllr.stephen.shing@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Robert Standley Councillor Robert Standley
Wadhurst
cllr.robert.standley@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Susan Stedman Councillor Susan Stedman
Horam
cllr.susan.stedman@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Bill Tooley Councillor Bill Tooley
Pevensey and Westham
cllr.bill.tooley@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Stuart Towner Councillor Stuart Towner
Hailsham East
? ?
photo of Councillor Chriss Triandafyllou Councillor Chriss Triandafyllou
Hailsham South and West
cllr.chriss.triandafyllou@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Neil Waller Councillor Neil Waller
Crowborough North
cllr.neil.waller@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Mark Weaver Councillor Mark Weaver
Crowborough North
cllr.mark.weaver@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor Graham  Wells Councillor Graham Wells
Wadhurst
cllr.graham.wells@wealden.gov.uk
? ?
photo of Councillor David White Councillor David White
Hellingly
cllr.david.white@wealden.gov.uk
? ?


Leader of Kent County Council Paul Carter said:

"The noise impacts on west Kent from Gatwick's current single runway configuration are already unacceptable and a potential doubling of these impacts with a second runway would be intolerable.

"The National Air Traffic control service has started to implement changes in flight paths, which has brought to our attention two things - a concentration of flight paths over west Kent; and that the number of night flights at Gatwick during the summer period is three and half times those coming in and out of Heathrow, which is a massive issue.

"This change in flight paths has been intolerable for a significant number of residents in that area and brought us to the conclusion that if they are going to pursue this policy in line with the EU Single European Sky initiatives, expansion of this airport and expansion of night flights must not happen.

Mr Carter added: "It is quite clear that residents in west Kent are already suffering from significant levels of disturbance as a result of increased air traffic over the last few years and the recent changes in flight paths.

"The current number of permitted night flights is simply unacceptable and has resulted in a massive increase in the number of complaints from residents whose quality of life has been disrupted.

"Lastly, there is a lack of adequate surface transport infrastructure enhancements to cope with the proposed additional demand …"

See the Kent Online report on the changed KCC position here:
http://www.kentonline.co.uk/tonbridge/news/kcc-to-oppose-new-gatwick-27496/


December 12th 2014
 


www.gatwickobviouslynot.org

This newsletter goes out to well over 1,000 people on our database which grows by the day.  Consequently, this may mean that it ends up in your "spam", as our first newsletter did for some. Please be sure to mark up anything from us as "not spam" to prevent that.

You can view all our Newsletters in your web browser here:
http://www.gatwickobviouslynot.org/archives.php 


Unsubscribe me from this list

View this mailing in your web browser